Monday, January 10, 2011

2011 ALA Youth Media Award Winners

The 2011 John Newbery Medal goes to:
“Moon over Manifest,” written by Clare Vanderpool,

Newbery Honor Books:
“Turtle in Paradise,” by Jennifer L. Holm
“Heart of a Samurai,” written by Margi Preus
“Dark Emperor and Other Poems of the Night,” written by Joyce Sidman
“One Crazy Summer,” by Rita Williams-Garcia

The 2011 Randolph Caldecott Medal goes to:
“A Sick Day for Amos McGee,” illustrated by Erin E. Stead

Caldecott Honor Books: “Dave the Potter: Artist, Poet, Slave,” illustrated by Bryan Collier, written by Laban Carrick Hill a
“Interrupting Chicken,” written and illustrated by David Ezra Stein

The 2011 Michael L. Printz Award goes to:
“Ship Breaker,” written by Paolo Bacigalupi

Printz Honor Books:
“Stolen,” by Lucy Christopher
“Please Ignore Vera Dietz,” by A.S. King
“Revolver,” by Marcus Sedgwick
“Nothing,” by Janne Teller

And the William C. Morris Award goes to:

"The Freak Observer," written by Blythe Woolston

The Morris Honor Books are:
"Hush," by Eishes Chayil
"Guardian of the Dead," by Karen Healey
"Hold Me Closer, Necromancer," by Lish McBride
"Crossing the Tracks," by Barbara Stuber

Congratulations all.

No comments: