Monday, January 18, 2010

2010 Newbery, Caldecott and Printz Award Winners

Well, we've all been looking at the lists and making predictions but today the ALA announced the winners.

Printz Medal

* Going Bovine by Libba Bray

Printz Honor Books

* Charles and Emma: The Darwins' Leap of Faith by Deborah Heiligman
* The Monstrumologist by Richard Yancey
* Punkzillaby Adam Rapp
* Tales from the Madman Underground: An Historical Romance, 1973 by John Barnes

Newbery Medal Winner

* When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead

Newbery Honor Books:

* Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice by Phillip Hoose
* The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly
* Where the Mountain Meets the Moon by Grace Lin
* The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg by Rodman Philbrick

William C. Morris Medal

* Flash Burnout by L.K. Madigan

Caldecott Medal

* The Lion & the Mouse illustrated and written by Jerry Pinkney

Caldecott Honor Books

* All the World, illustrated by Marla Frazee, written by Elizabeth Garton Scanlon
* Red Sings from Treetops: A Year in Colors, illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski, written by Joyce Sidman

Coretta Scott King Author Award

* Bad News for Outlaws by Vaunda Micheaux Nelson, illustrated by R. Gregory Christie

Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award

* My People, by Langston Hughes, illustrated by Charles R. Smith, Jr.

Did those books you expected to win actually win? I called the Newbery and the Caldecott winners but I thought Wintergirls would get the Printz and Beautiful Creatures the Morris Medal. Great winners this year. Congratulations all.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Can't believe Marcelo or Wintergirls didn't even get an honor award for the printz!