Thursday, February 2, 2012

New Series for Maggie Steifvater!

Good news: hot off her Printz Honor for The Scorpio Races , Scholastic just announced the publication of a new four-book series from Maggie Stiefvater. The first book in the series, The Raven Boys, will be published on September 18; three additional books in the Raven Cycle will follow.

The book introduces Richard “Dick” Campbell Gansey, III, a handsome private school student seeking a vanished Welsh King, and Blue Sargent, the daughter of a psychic, who has been told that if she kisses her true love, he will die. “I grew up on a diet of exceptional fantasy series for children—The Dark Is Rising, The Black Cauldron, A Wrinkle in Time, The Chronicles of Narnia—and I’ve always wanted to write one of those sprawling epic sagas built from intimate moments,” said Stiefvater in a statement.

Happy dance. I've loved all her books and can't wait for this one.

More info here


La Coccinelle said...

Sounds like an interesting premise, although I hope there's enough story for four books. I'm getting a little wary of series because the ones I've started lately seem to run out of steam...

Bookgeek said...

Agreed. I also think some (but not all) authors use the series to simply not end a book, which is one of my pet peeves. But Maggie always writes so beautifully, I have high hopes